The Hydro Majestic Hotel
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains has been elegantly refurbished and has Art Deco inspired décor that reflect the rich heritage of this iconic hotel. A range of enticing dining options are available on site, and guests can enjoy panoramic views of the Megalong Valley.
Hydro Majestic Hotel is an 8-minute drive from Katoomba Airport and a 10-minute drive from Katoomba Scenic World. The boutique shops, cafes and restaurants of Leura are within a 10-minute drive of the property. Central Sydney is a 1-hour and 45-minute drive away.
These stylish rooms have a flat-screen TV with satellite channels and free Wi-Fi access. The private bathroom includes a bathrobe and slippers, free toiletries, and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer picturesque mountain views.
Dining options include an Asian-inspired menu at Salon Du The, high tea and a dining menu from Wintergarden. The Boiler House has a casual atmosphere with industrial-style interiors, and an all-day dining menu. Belgravia Lobby Lounge features plush furnishings and ornate fireplaces.
At sunset, guests can enjoy a cocktail at Cats Alley, and taking in the breathtaking views. The Hydro Majestic Pavilion has an interactive showcase of regional delicacies, including boutique wine and gourmet food.
Perhaps as early as 1901, Mark Foy, dashing retail baron, world traveller and sportsman, sold off shares in Mark Foy’s Department Stores to finance what was to become Australia’s first health retreat.
Most of the construction of the Hydro Majestic took place in 1903, the same year Mr Foy successfully applied to have the name of the township changed to the more appropriate “Medlow Bath” The inner workings of the resort were all thoroughly modern and included a steam-driven generator imported from Germany. This generator produced electricity for the resort and the neighbouring township of Medlow Bath. In fact the Hydro Majestic had working electricity four days before the city of Sydney. The resort also had its own water supply, steam laundry, freezing works, sewerage treatment works and a telephone system connected to the Sydney exchange.
Mr Foy hired Dr George Baur formerly of the “Shoeneck” health spa on Lake Lucerne in Switzerland to devise and supervise a program of diets and weird and wonderful treatments.
The Hydropathic Establishment officially opened on July 4th, 1904 during a snowstorm. A group of special guests arrived by train at Penrith where Mr Foy had a fleet of motor cars waiting to drive them to the Hotel. Artworks collected from all over the world were housed in a gallery several hundred feet long. Entertainment took place in the Casino Ballroom (it was never used for gambling) the magnificent dome is still in place today. The dome was pre-fabricated in Chicago and shipped to Australia. The guests strolled along the picture gallery to reach the Grand Dining room, the half barrel vault ceiling with its gilded features, is still much admired.
The Hydro Majestic attracted guests from around Australia and the world. Famous Australian Opera singer, Dame Nellie Melba sang at the hotel a number of times as did English Opera singer Dame Clara Butt and Nellie Stewart.
Australia’s first Prime Minister Sir Edmund Barton actually died in the hotel in 1920. Other famous guests were Sherlock Holmes’ creator Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Julius Blau of 4711 perfume fame, and the Rajah of Pudukkutai with his Australian-born wife, the former Molly Fink.
A number of well-known Foy family friends also stayed at the hotel including Hugh Ward, Dame Nellie Melba’s Australian manager and his son naturalist and anthropologist, Melbourne Ward and Freddie Lane who was the first Australian swimmer to win gold at the Paris Olympics Games in 1900.
In 1922 fire destroyed Belgravia and the gallery. Mr Foy however, took this loss in his stride and commenced work on the New Belgravia, which was to take fourteen years to complete. In 1942 the Hydro was taken over by the U.S. Defence Department and turned into a hospital for American casualties from the battles of the Coral Sea and South Pacific.
In 1946 a new building was opened with bedrooms on the upper floors and a large lounge downstairs complete with a huge fireplace.
Mark Foy died in 1950 aged 85. His family, politicians, sportsmen and other dignitaries attended his funeral. His many significant contributions to Australian life spanned the areas of medicine and sport to retailing and tourism. Certainly he was a true pioneer of the Australian hospitality industry.
The Carrington Hotel
Located 197 m from Katoomba Train Station, The Carrington provides elegant accommodations in a heritage-listed refurbished manor. It features fine dining options, a nightclub and the relaxing Renaissance Day Spa.
Rooms at The Carrington hotel have classic atmosphere and décor. They all include a cable TV and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer city views or open out onto a balcony, while others include a spa tub.
Old City Bank Bar & Brasserie provides informal dining with wood-fire pizza and gourmet burgers. Champagne Charlie’s serves cocktails and other drinks. The grand dining room is open for high tea on Sundays and dinner on weekends.
In the Blue Mountains area, guests can enjoy plenty of outdoor activities, such as hiking and trekking in the natural surroundings. Free on-site private parking is available.
In 1880, when construction commenced on the hotel, Katoomba was described as a nondescript little mining town. Only three years earlier Katoomba had been known as Crushers, in recognition of its most prominent feature, a rock crushing operation beside the railway line.
Mr. Harry Rowell, Sydney hotelier and shrewd businessman, built the hotel employing the services of Mr C Kirkpatrick, a Sydney based architect, and Mr. F Drewett of Lithgow as the contractor for construction. It was Mr. Rowell’s original intention to call the hotel the Western Star Hotel but only weeks after its opening in 1882; he changed the name to The Great Western.
When first opened the hotel was described as having “accommodation for seventy to eighty persons, contains nearly sixty rooms consisting of a large drawing room, . . .
The Carrington Hotel
15-47 Katoomba Street, Katoomba.
Phone: (02) 4782 1111
Hotel Blue & Conference Centre
Featuring original 1920s architecture and décor, this historic hotel is just a 15-minute walk from Katoomba’s scenic Echo Point Lookout and the world-famous Three Sisters. Guests enjoy free WiFi and free cooked breakfast.
Each room at Hotel Blue is classically designed, with a hint of the hotel’s original character. All rooms feature an en suite bathroom with shower, refrigerator and tea/coffee making facilities. Free live music is presented in the lounge on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.
The guest lounge has a pool table and a warm open fire during the winter months. Featuring high ceilings and antique décor, The Parlour Bar offers a wide selection of regional beers and wines in an intimate setting.
Overlooking historic Lurline Street, Sisters Blue Restaurant serves home-style meals using locally sourced produce. Café 88 is a vibrant street-side cafe offering light lunches, cakes and coffees.
Hotel Blue & Conference Centre is a 10-minute walk from Katoomba train station.
- 25 period guest rooms
- Parlour Bar
- Sisters Blue Restaurant
- Cafe 88
- Guest lounge
- Live music every Thursday, Friday, Saturday & Sunday
- Conference room
Hotel Blue & Conference Centre
88 Lurline St, Katoomba.
Phone: (02) 4782 6922
The Mountain Heritage Hotel & Spa
From its secluded ridge top position, this multi award winning, character filled mountain mansion enjoys spectacular sunrises, sunsets and magical mountain mists over the dramatic sandstone cliffs and tree filled valleys of the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains. All just a few minutes stroll from Katoomba Town Centre and a very short drive to Leura Village shopping & dining.
Every aspect of the property and grounds has been lovingly restored over the years to create a venue which is warm, welcoming and relaxing. Paying homage to its past traditions, whilst offering modern comfort and service.
Facilities include: comfortable lounge areas; cocktail bar; fully licensed, Jamison Views Restaurant; quiet library; exercise room; outdoor pool (seasonal), outdoor balconies and terraces, and day spa.
With 41 spacious rooms and suites, many boasting spa baths and romantic log fires, air-conditioning for all seasons, windows that open for fresh mountain air, hand crafted early Australian colonial style furniture, flat screen TV’s, mini bars, and free Wi-Fi, all matched to friendly and personalised service. This historic mountain retreat has been delighting guests since 1908.
The Mountain Heritage Hotel & Spa
Cnr Apex & Lovel Street, Katoomba.
Phone: (02) 4782 2155
The Metropole Guesthouse
Established 1933 in the heart of beautiful Katoomba, the historic Metropole Guesthouse offers you a very unique Blue Mountains Accommodation experience. The Hotel is located directly across from Kingsford Smith Memorial Park and within easy walking distance to many popular local attractions; specialty stores; dining/cuisine options; transport buses; and trains. WI-FI is available throughout the hotel and we serve continental and hot buffet breakfast daily.
Whether you’re escaping for relaxation; adventure or just a bit of culture – The Metropole Guesthouse is the ideal mountains getaway. It’s not hard to immerse yourself in the senses and flavours of a bygone era; indulge your appetites in our licensed deco dining room; relax with a book (or a board game) in our guest library; or simply sit back and watch time pass by on one of our many comfortable antique lounges.
Monday to Saturday: 8:00am to 7:00pm
Sunday: 8:00am to 5:00pm
For after hours check-in please call: 02 4782 5544
To Make a Reservation:
Call: 02 4782 5544
The Metropole Guesthouse
Cnr Gang Gang & Lurline Streets, Katoomba.
Phone: (02) 4782 5544
Katoomba YHA (Originally Homesdale)
Featuring a lovely garden, barbecue area and game room with billiards, the Blue Mountains YHA is less than half a kilometer from Katoomba Train Station. It provides heated rooms and free parking.
YHA Blue Mountains is a 20-minute walk from the famous Three Sisters and Katoomba Scenic World Railroad. Katoomba Golf Course is a 5-minute drive away.
The tour desk can arrange local activities including rappelling, mountain biking and horseback riding. Blue Mountains YHA also has a communal kitchen and a colorful guest lounge with a fireplace.
Luxury Blue Mountains Accommodation
Ideal for romantic getaways, conference retreats, family accommodation or just a luxury break away.
With 85 spacious guestrooms and suites to choose from, Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa offers a wide rangeof accommodation options to meet the needs of every guest.
Each room feature traditional design with sumptuous soft & lush furnishings, elegant décor with Wedgwood wallpaper themed in pink, green or lilac, spacious marble bathroom with full sized bath and separate shower, high speed Wi-Fi access and LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and DVD player.
We offer a range of room types to suit every guest, whether you are looking for luxury Blue Mountains accommodation for your next conference, the relaxing break away with whole family or planning a romantic getaway for two.Deluxe Rooms feature either residential views overlooking the Resort or with views overlooking the treetops to the picturesque Jamieson Valley.
Our Executive Suites are alldistinguished by their individual character: ‘Mini Mini Saddle’, ‘Cloudmaker’, ‘Kanangra’ and ‘Nellie’s Glen’ and offer a separate lounge and bedroom with all the same features and views as our Deluxe Rooms. They are ideal for families, groups, long stays and special occasion getaways.
Steeped in history, Lilianfels Resort & Spa is set in the heritage listed, original homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, the sixth Chief Justice of NSW and is a tribute to a bygone era.
Sir Fredrick Matthew Darley was born in 1830 in Dublin, Ireland. He married his wife, Lucy Forest Brown, in December 1860, who was born in Melbourne. They met while she was traveling with her brother to England.
He arrived in Australia in 1862, on the advice of the Chief Justice of NSW who convinced him that he would further his career in the colony. Sir Frederick was knighted in 1887, and served five times as Lieutenant Governor of NSW, one such term spanning of the Commonwealth of Australia of 1901.
In August 1888 Sir Frederick Darley purchased over 11 acres of land adjacent to Echo Point in Katoomba. He built a summer residence for the family over the year of 1889, designed by architect Varney Parkes (son of Henry Parkes).The Darleys had seven children, five daughters and two sons, and it was Lilian, who died of tuberculosis at age 22, for whom the Katoomba property was named.
The property was used for a summer residence and nearly every noted visitor to Australia accepted the Darleys’ hospitality enjoying the magnificent outlook. Royalty, Vice Royalty and Princes of Statesmanship, Jurisprudence, Science and Art came in to view the Mountains from the magnificent vantage point at Lilianfels.
Before his death, Sir Frederick sold Lilianfels to George Begg Vickery in 1908, and again over the next 4 years Lilianfels was used as a summer residence only. In 1912 Mr Albert A Kemp of Sydney purchased Lilianfels and for the first time the house was used as a permanent residence. Mr Kemp was the first to subdivide the original land parcel, and sold the property in 1920.
It is assumed the house was named Lilianfels is in honour of Lilian, coupled with the German fels for high land. Darley’s Restaurant is situated in the original Lilianfels House, which was built over 100 years ago. The restaurant has recently undergone a fresh refurbishment and still resides at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.
Luxury Boutique Hotel
Ideal for romantic getaways, conference retreats, family accommodation or just a luxury break away.
With 14 intimate guestrooms and suites to choose from, Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant offers a range of accommodation options to meet the needs of every guest. Each room boast individual personalities – from design, room names and colour palette to its contemporary furnishings and fittings. Complete with a marble bathroom with a separate rain shower or spa bath with shower overhead (Cliff View Rooms), high speed Wi-Fi access and LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels and DVD player. Each room has been named after a famous Australian explorer and feature a photo and inspiring story about each upon entering your room.
We offer a range of room types to suit every guest, whether you are looking for an intimate and boutique Blue Mountains accommodation for your next small to medium sized conference, the relaxing break away with whole family or planning a romantic getaway for two. Deluxe View Rooms feature breathtaking views overlooking the picturesque Jamieson Valley. Our Grand Deluxe View Rooms and Corner View Suites offer a larger room with all the same features and views as our Deluxe View Rooms.
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant was designed by architect Peter Doreen and built in 1990 as a retreat for the famous Australian novelist, playwright and author Thomas Keneally AO, best known for his Booker Prize winning novel of 1982, Schindler’s Ark.
The current building replaced a historic homestead that was commissioned by Florence Young in the late 1920’s. Florence Young was a missionary who travelled extensively to the Far East and Papua New Guinea to preach Christianity and undertake missionary works. From the late 1940’s until the mid-1980’s the old homestead was a retreat for the Australian Christian Nurse movement.
By the mid-1980’s the house was in a poor state of repair and became a fire hazard resulting in the house being demolished in the late 1980’s. The site was later auctioned and the concept for Echoes guesthouse was born. The end result from this concept was a 3 storey contemporary guest house that combines a sleek modern design with a touch of federation all whilst showcasing the panoramic views of the Blue Mountains.
Built on the edge of the escarpment overlooking the Jamison Valley, Echoes was one of the first luxury guesthouses in the mountain to offer award-winning cuisine. Gourmet dining with fresh ingredients has always been the focal point for the Blue Mountains and Echoes established its dining origins with the famous French chef Claude Corne, renowned for his Sydney restaurant “Claudes of Woollahra”, who cemented Echoes as a fine dining venue in the early to mid 1990’s.
Over the years, Echoes has evolved from a luxury B&B to what is now a thriving boutique hotel with a busy award winning restaurant, bar & lounge.
Renovated in 2006, Echoes is now a luxurious and stylish 4 ½ star boutique hotel with a much sought after location in the Blue Mountains.
Luxury Gardens & Lodges
Ideal for romantic getaways, conference retreats or just a luxury break away
With 28 spacious guestrooms spread across seven garden cottages to choose from, Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges offers several accommodation options to meet the needs of every guest.
Each garden cottage is individually named with a historical significance to Parklands which include Pope, Govett, Kerslake, Monterey, Pine, Maple and Fairway cottages comprise of 4 rooms, the ground floor Garden Suites and the top floor Loft Rooms.
Each room feature expansive views of the grounds, sumptuous soft & lush furnishings, elegant décor, and spacious bathroom with double shower which includes a rain shower, gas fireplace, high speed Wi-Fi access and LED TV with selected Foxtel channels.
We offer a range of room types to suit every guest, whether you are looking for luxury Blue Mountains retreat accommodation for your next conference, the relaxing break away or planning a romantic getaway for two.
Garden Suites feature an entrance lobby leading into a sitting room which opens up onto a private garden patio. The separate bedroom with ensuite has a large bay window overlooking the views of grounds and gardens. Our Loft Rooms have a private entrance and staircase which lead up to an open plan style room with raked ceilings and has views overlooking the gardens.
The gardens and grounds of Parklands were established by John Pope, a wealthy businessman who appreciated gardens and who promoted the use of floral decoration through his partnership in Farmers, a distinguished Sydney department store. John Pope was one of the early purchasers of land at Blackheath during the initial sales in 1879-1881 and purchased 12 acres just outside the parish of Blackheath in 1880.
Pope soon set about establishing his house Karaweera on the estate, which he expanded to 22 acres by the purchase of the adjacent portion of land. Every summer he would come to escape the heat of the city and bring his entourage of servants. Karaweera was a substantial and attractive home. Photographs taken around 1902 show the house as an extensive brick dwelling, probably built in two stages. Verandahs opened between the bay fronts overlooking the extensive grounds. In front of the house, the garden was laid out with rectilinear paths, edged with shrubs. A row of pine trees ran along the boundary and trees were planted to separate the formal garden in front of the house from the expansive lawns beyond.
As with many of the Sydney businessmen and politicians who developed their mountain retreats, the development of a garden was important to John Pope. In 1890, seven years before he hired his well-known gardener, Thomas Kerslake, Pope’s property was described as having been brought to ‘such a pitch of perfection that it is now readily accorded the palm as a model farm and residence throughout the district’. The pines which still line the boundary of Govetts Leap Road had been planted well before 1890 and were by that time ‘rapidly attaining substantial proportions’. The English grasses and clover were thick and strong and the cottage was surrounded by a flower garden. Fruit and vegetable gardens, cow pastures, pig paddocks, fowl and duck yards and breeding pens had all been laid out. In the fruit orchard were a variety of apples, cherries, plums, greengages, pears, apricots, quinces and mulberry, all protected by a windbreak of pine trees on the west side and a hedge of hawthorn on the north.
The vegetable garden alone was said to cover four acres by 1890 and had rectangular beds edged with brick and divided by red gravel paths. It supplied raspberries, red and white currants, gooseberries, strawberries, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, potatoes, parsnips, turnips, carrots, beets and rhubarb.
A natural spring fed a fish pond stocked with carp, tench and gold fish. At the bottom of the garden was a swimming pool ‘thirty-two feet long, twenty feet wide and about five feet deep’. The pool was supplied by water from the natural spring.
All the paths in the garden were well constructed with gravel drains below to take away sub-surface water and ensure the soil did not become too moist.
To maintain and develop these gardens at Karaweera, Pope employed in 1897 a full-time professional gardener, Thomas Kerslake. Kerslake was clearly indispensable and in 1909 Pope purchased a cottage on the opposite side of Govetts Leap Road known as The Laurels to accommodate him.
John Pope died in 1912 and was succeeded by his son Parke Pope, who had also become general manager of Farmer’s. Parke was a dedicated golfer and built his own nine-hole course at Karaweera, which ‘wound its way round the orchard and vegetable garden. It is likely that Kerslake supervised the transition of the gardens to accommodate the golf links. Parke Pope was also a principal mover in preventing the sub-division of the public golf course in Blackheath, at Belvedere, in 1922. Pope formed the Blackheath Land Co., with himself as Chairman of the board with the purpose of establishing a new Blackheath Golf Club. Pope was the first president of the Golf Club and remained in control until 1924.
It was Parke Pope who employed the landscape designer and nurseryman Paul Sorensen in the 1930s to redesign the front garden along Govetts Leap Road. Plantings of Japanese Maples and a more extended palette of conifers have been attributed to advice in 1938 from Sorensen.
After Parke Pope’s death in 1955, the property became a guest-house. Around 1970 the name was changed to ‘Parklands’. In the 1980s John Pope’s house was severely damaged by fire and was demolished without trace around 1989. In 1993 Colin and Elizabeth Jacobson purchased the estate and developed a luxury retreat called Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges which opened in 1996 with two new garden cottages containing eight executive suites. Four more suites in another cottage were added in 1998 and a conference facility opened in 1999.
In 2013, the Escarpment Group added Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges to its collection of Blue Mountains properties with a view of adding to the story of luxury sustainable regional tourism within the region. Following an extensive redevelopment and renovation of Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges has been transformed back to its glory days of Karaweera. The transformation included an addition of four new garden cottages, each containing four suites, the addition of a new Day Spa, expanded conference facility and a 4000 sqm private kitchen garden.